The Swansea Open Returns


After several years of covid, 2022 saw the return of the Swansea Open Table Tennis Championships which took place at Swansea Bay Sports Park on the 26th & 27th of February. The tournament welcomed 91 competitors from all over the nation Including Bristol, Southampton, Essex, and even Ireland. The players saw a mix of rising youths, experienced veterans, and professional players. Swansea’s Paralympian, Paul Karabardak, also graced the event.



The weekend was a joint venture between the Swansea University Table Tennis club and Table Tennis Wales, The Saturday saw Under 13’s, Cadets, Junior and u21’s events played out while the Sunday was the Men’s and Women’s Singles and Vets categories. The event highlighted the value of successful partnership, both between the University and Table Tennis Wales and the joint Table Tennis programme at the university, but also relationships within the University, the event seeing 3 media students on hand, taking and uploading photos and results to the clubs social media platforms and livestreaming the Men’s and Women’s finals and Vets final too.



“the event has a huge success, to see so many players from so many different places all coming to Swansea to support the event after all this time was fantastic to see” -Tournament Organiser and Swansea Development Officer Matt Porter. “the feedback we have had has been so positive, from the pre event info, programme, and of course the way the event ran, Was a real team effort, From our referee to the absolutely amazing work of the media students and club members, we are already looking forward to next years event and adding even more to the experience of playing in the Swansea Open.

The full results, Pictures and Finals can be found on Swansea University Table Tennis Club’s social media platforms Facebook, Twitter and  Instagram.


Under - 13's
Winner Jake Davidson
Runner-up Dan Mead


Winner Ruby Elliot
Runner-up Milan Gal


Winner Evan O’Connor
Runner-up Ruby Elliot


Under 21's
Winner Evan O’Connor
Runner-up Abdulaziz Al-Hajaji


Winner Matthew Daish
Runner-up Harri Docherty


Winner Yeh Tsz Yan, ‘Nancy’
Runner-up Catherine Jones


Winner Rory Scott
Runner-up Daniel Harris

The Swansea Open Returns

By Shawn Lee