South East Primary Schools Championships

The first South East Primary Schools Championships was played on the 7th March at Talybont Sports Village and it did not disappoint. 20 teams battled it out for the top spot and Cwmlai A were the eventual winners, reclaiming the title that they won last year.

The day started off with 5 groups of 4 and every game was exciting to watch. There were 12 different schools fighting for the top spot in their groups. There were loads of great matches to watch, and everyone involved was having lots of fun playing with their team mates and challenging different schools. The second half of the day started with 4 groups of 5 with all of the morning group winners in one group, all of the morning group runners up in one group, all the way down to the morning group 5th place finishers. The final positions were as follows:

  1. Cwmlai A
  2. Williamstown
  3. Glanhowy / Christ The King
  4. Cwmlai B
  5. The Cathedral School B
  6. The Cathedral School A
  7. Ynyshir
  8. Beaufort Hill A
  9. St Andrews Major
  10. Bishops Child
  11. The Cathedral School B
  12. Beaufort Hill B
  13. Cwmlai C
  14. Melin Gruffydd A
  15. Heolgerrig Primary
  16. Cwmlai D
  17. Lakeside Primary
  18. Melin Gruffydd B
  19. Beaufort Hill C
  20. Beaufort Hill D

All kids enjoyed the day, and they all took home a certificate, and a free frisbee from Cardiff University Sport. It was great for them to host it, and Table Tennis Wales look forward to running the event next year!